Farewell Branston, dearest friend

Today I lost a dear friend.

He was 97 and we hadn’t know each other very long, and yet his passing has left a huge hole inside my soul. My skull feels painfully tight and my teeth ache. I am desolately heartbroken.

He was – beside being kind and warm – a poet, an artist and was in the process of completing his war and post war memoirs when he fell ill and failed to recover. I read his poems and I read his memoirs and loved them very much.

His daughter called me at work today, bravely breaking the news. I broke down, quietly sobbing on the phone. Out of the two, it should have been me offering words of comfort, and yet it was her apologising for causing upset.

What to do when you miss a friend like Branston? I thought of you, dear bloggers. I thought I could express my pain and not be judged. I thought of you as the generous WordPress community of writers and artists and their wealth of advice and encouragement. I thought of asking for your advice and encouragement. So here it goes:

provided his wonderful daughter gives me her blessing, I would love to find a platform for his poems and memoirs. If any of you has knowledge of a suitable publishing vehicle or knows of a publisher who is looking for delightful poetry or original, insightful, at times ironically hilarious, and always well written war memoirs, please drop me a line. The world of readers will be a better place with Branston’s words shared more widely.

Rest in peace, dear Branston. I will never forget you.

All the best,

Ofglassandbooks

About ofglassandbooks

Who, me? A fan of good reads and glass jars experiences; budding fiction writer in the very little and spare time available...
This entry was posted in Books, reading, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Farewell Branston, dearest friend

  1. robincoyle says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. Such a sad day for you. How lovely you had a friend like that. I am afraid I can’t help with a publishing lead, but you could always self-publish. Wouldn’t that be a nice tribute to a life well led . . .

  2. ellisnelson says:

    Sorry to hear about this. Publishing his work would be a wonderful tribute.

Leave a Reply

