2015: wishing for a year of small but beautiful events.

It’s the end of 2014. At the respectable age of 40 something, which direction will my celebrations take? That of celebrating the successful completion of another year? Or of new and exciting opportunities ahead? As an optimistic character, rarely prone to anything but enthusiasm, I would hope it to be both.  Let us be thankful for what 2014 has brought and hope for similar blessings during 2015. So much to plan! Becoming a vegetarian; continuing to take pleasure in writing whatever I fancy writing instead of watching TV; travelling with my family somewhere we love and can afford to travel to…all positive and respectable wishes.

And yet this year in particular there is a vein of nostalgia beginning to break through my outlook for the future. Could I retrain to become a doctor? Not that I necessarily would want to, of course, but what if I did? No. I am now of an age considered ineligible for such an ambition. Medical schools are not the only bodies that feel that 40 something candidates have passed their “best before date”. No need to list them here, but suffice to say that new year resolutions will not, even in theory, span the ‘anything is possible’ scenario, EVER AGAIN. The world of opportunities is shrinking to a narrower lane defined by previous life choices and age, and this is a fact.

What caused this sudden turn for nostalgia in usually happy and quirky posts published on Ofglassandbooks? A book, of course. What else would feature on my blog? Glass jars? Yes, you have a point, those too, but perhaps not on this post. The book in question is The Girl who saved the King of Sweden, by Jonas Jonasson, a funny and heart-warming novel starring as its main character Nombeko, a black South African girl of spectacular intelligence and survival skills. It’s a fabulous read that will not leave you disappointed, providing adorable snippets of significant historical events of the second half of the 20th century, as well as suggesting that these events could have taken a radically different turn had it not been for the accidental input of the book’s fictional characters into their course.

So what about nostalgia? Well, you will also find that the book is tinged with the resignation that life will take its course, regardless of one’s planning and hoping. One of the characters is led to alleviating her disappointment at her husband’s extreme eccentricities by chain smoking, the likely effect of which is her premature death. And then there is Nombeko’s own hope for a quiet and honest life, hampered by an engineer who, aided by a racist and corrupt state of affairs, succeeds in keeping her imprisoned within his nuclear power station for over a decade, to pay for her crime of having been hit by his car whilst drunk! The reader will find a few more examples of a similar nature brilliantly described in the book.

These events are a far cry from my life and that of those who surround me. But books are powerful instruments to make one think. The outcome of my thinking today is that it is true that some doors will no longer be theoretically open to me as I grow older, and that new year’s resolutions should strictly remain within the realm of realism. Then again life is made, by the greatest part, of small but meaningful events, as opposed to spectacular occasions, and it is the former I shall be wishing for in 2015.

My next read? It was going to be: A Visit from the Goon Squad, by Jennifer Egan, but I think that I shall give it a miss until my mood improves…

To all my fabulous blogging friends, a very Happy New Year, filled with little and wonderful events!

Best,

OG&Bs

About ofglassandbooks

Who, me? A fan of good reads and glass jars experiences; budding fiction writer in the very little and spare time available...
This entry was posted in Books, reading, reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2015: wishing for a year of small but beautiful events.

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    “The world of opportunities is shrinking to a narrower lane defined by previous life choices and age”—I really like that line. You’ve captured perfectly what many of us begrudgingly learn over time. Though I don’t believe it’s true for every situation, it certainly is for some things, and that can be a harsh bite of reality to swallow. Still, we’re never too old to have realistic dreams as long as we put the effort into achieving it.

    Great post, and the book “The Girl who saved the King of Sweden” sounds wonderful. Happy New Year to you!

  2. Yes, I feel that way, too. But then I think that I may still do or experience things I haven’t yet dreamed of. Who knows what those things may be? I listened to the wind shriek through the fir trees around the mountain cabin we’re staying in last night. It was the first time I’ve ever heard them sound like a jet aircraft taking off. Spectacular. And I nearly froze, standing in my slippers on the exposed deck to listen more closely. A memory I’ll hold forever. Who knows where the next first will come from or what first I’ll decide to do or achieve next? I do know that I’m looking forward to a whole slough of them in the coming years. 😀

    • Carrie, a very Happy New Year to you too! Yes, I like the fact that our heads can still operate as dream factories that hard work and determination translate into reality. I have the impression that this is a message Americans are particularly good at sharing with all citizens old and new. Would you say it’s true?
      All the best for a great 2015 and thanks for taking the time to stop by and drop me a line!

  3. Jilanne, wow, that sounds so cool! What region/ country would that be?
    I love the fact that you find excitement in new firsts. Some ‘seconds’ are not bad either. In the UK it’s still dark at 8 am, an easy way to witness awe inspiring dawns at a respectable time of the day. It gets me every day!
    Wishing you a fab 2015 to you and your family! Thanks so much for reading and commenting. Not having had much chance to blog since August, I thought that my post would go un-noticed. Carrie and yourself gave me a lovely surprise with great comments, as always!

    • We are in the Sierras in California near a place called Bear Valley. Extraordinary winds. Power outage for 4 hours last night. Too windy for skiing today. Winds at the top of the mountain gusting above 100mph. Gotta love and be in awe of mother nature!

      Contrary to your expectations, I think many readers are looking for a few thought-provoking musings for the new year. Thank you!

    • Oh man! 100 mph? That takes some guts to listen to!!
      Thanks for the nice words and keeping my fingers crossed for more ski- friendly weather for you!

  4. We’re three months in and I hope you’ve found some. cheers my friend

    • Thank you Nick for getting in touch. I have, indeed, experienced tiny moments of greatness, such as seeing my son blush when mentioning a girl’s name, and platting my daughter’s hair as she’s reading Jacqueline Wilson. How are you? How have these first few months of the year been treating you? All the best, OG&Bs

      • Sounds like you’ve spent early 2015 on the most important things, OGB. I’m glad. I’ve done the same — and am trying to keep the blog going with only good, worthwhile stuff… which always takes more time to produce. Then there’s the novel. Almost done, then once more into the breach. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Leave a Reply

