Celebrities and fiction – a nail in the coffin for ordinary aspiring writers?

The singer and song writer Morrissey has recently announced that he will turn his talent to writing fiction. After his autobiography was published by Penguin as a Classic and achieving extensive commercial success, Morrissey is now half way through writing his first novel. Why? Radio stations don’t play his records anymore and people have lost faith in the music industry, he said. The charts are dominated by bland and talentless personalities as a direct result of powerful record houses “buying” the top chart positions, he claimed, or something along these bitter lines.
And so he is now appreciating the joys of writing and being published. His written work will be widely marketed, advertised and disseminated by publishers and bookshops…above that of ordinary writers or aspiring writers, whose name is not easily recognisable I might add…

Wait a minute, is this not exactly the type of behaviour Morrissey has come to hate in the music industry? Am I being unkind here? Am I missing something? A pop celebrity pushes on open doors when it comes to publishing. Oh dear, please could a charitable soul send the poor guy some chocolate?

Oh well, publishers have to do what they have to do: milk the fat cows, not just stumble along and make ends meet. If commercial success plumps publishers up financially, they might be better inclined to support new authors one day. Who knows, we may all thank Mr Morrisey’s decision to jump on our bandwagon one day.

Do celebrities help or hinder ordinary people like you and me?

As always yours,

OG&Bs

About ofglassandbooks

Who, me? A fan of good reads and glass jars experiences; budding fiction writer in the very little and spare time available...
This entry was posted in Books, reading, reviews, Celebrities writers, music industry crisis, morrissey writes fiction, change behaviour, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Celebrities and fiction – a nail in the coffin for ordinary aspiring writers?

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    I try to put a positive spin on it. I tell myself, “If the latest bubble-head reality TV star can get their fiction book on the front table in a Barnes & Noble store, then maybe someday I can, too.” 😉

    • You are quite right Carrie! Celebrities might have the money, profile, contacts, audience, advance deals, skilled ghostwriters. And we might have…uh, well, plenty of good will! Who’s having the last laugh, hey?

  2. I like to read memoirs from celebrities, and if a favorite of mine were to write a novel, I’m sure I would give it a read. I know there are some who feel strongly that celebrities shouldn’t write children’s books, but my family has enjoyed many of them. The more the merrier! In the end, the consumer weeds our books out – or not.

    • This is a positive way to look at it, Maddie. I suppose in this case the celebrity in question seemed to be outraged at other celebrities receiving greater support in music than he is these days.He decides to switch to fiction instead as a result of such ‘ injustice’! Funny, really.
      Cheers!

  3. Of course it would be an advantage, I’m sure, to be Alice Monroe’s cousin or some Hollywood director’s niece. But, alas, I am not. Still, I know that the BIG names help keep the little names on the board. That’s just the way the business works and thank god for those famous people who bring in the big bucks and give us small folks a chance at being read.

    • Hi Carol, good point! times are hard for most industries these days. It’s just that it would have been more gracious for mr Morrisey to tell the world that he loved writing, and to use this as a reason for turning to fiction! Something on the lines of: Heaven knows I’m miserable now if I don’t finish my book….hehe

  4. Yes, I suppose that if publishers make more money on celebrities, they’ll have more to spend on celebrity authors. I’m not sure if the small peeps will see any trickle down. But then, I’m a pessimist. 😀

Leave a Reply

