I told you so!

Man Booker Prize

Man Booker Prize (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

NaNoWriMo is over, and yours truly managed a full 10,380 words in total. I considered hiding the utter failure from public scrutiny. No, not me. I’m no coward! Those 10,380 words are pure gold! They are the beginning  – and yes, no more than that…- of something spectacular! There is the germ of pure genius somewhere in there, which if I had had the time and the inclination to nurture, would have sat inside the body of a Booker Man Prize nominee’s novel by November the 30th!

Back to reality, I always knew that I was starting something which I could not end within the tight constraints of 30 November days. I even told you so! Remember my short and snappy post Ofglassandbooks takes the plunge? I’m a woman of consistency; what you see is what you get; an open book; a clear glass jar, and other transparency clichés as required.

Deep down in this transparent book of glass there is another voice that screams for attention. I may not have finished my novel, but I have started it! There are so many reasons in life to procrastinate. If it hadn’t been for NaNoWriMo I would have embraced a few more over and over until 2014 and maybe longer still.

My ‘I told you so’ is not for backtracking, but my 10,380 words mean so very much. I made a little bit of a fuss about my first tween-age novel, haven’t I, dear blogging friends? Well, just wait until I’ve done with this second novel. This is no threat – how can it be? It’s going to take AGES to finish! But when I do, there will be ethereal fireworks and parties, banquets and fetes, caviar and champagne on each and every web platform and IP address! WordPress will remember my celebrations for decades!

Have you started something in November which you haven’t finished and yet feel good about it? If so, please drop me a line.

As always delighted to hear from you,

Ofglassandbooks

Some confessions from other NaNoWriMo contestants. You can feel the joy, but mostly the pain A big to all who could proudly say: I tried!

 

About ofglassandbooks

Who, me? A fan of good reads and glass jars experiences; budding fiction writer in the very little and spare time available...
This entry was posted in Books, reading, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I told you so!

  1. Booker Man prize ….. sounds better, actually! ha ha

  2. Thank you Elena for stopping by and liking this post! Emotions run wild when writing, and any race against time can make them spiral into pure comedy!
    All the best,
    OG&B

Leave a Reply

