Can a fiction book make you scream: WOW, Haruki Murakami and I are like two peas in a pod! Installment 6 of the Can a fiction book make you…mini series

I love short stories. It’s 2013 and I’m in luck. Critics – you know, the real ones, of the serious and knowledgeable type – have observed a revival of the genre.

Happy to surf the new big wave, I’ve been looking out for short stories I haven’t read. Half way through ‘The second bakery attack’ by Haruki Murakami my heart skipped a beat. You what! One of the greatest authors in the world and I both get itchy ears when we are nervous? This is completely and utterly magnificent! A discovery of momentous significance! Me and him have sooo much in common! The realisation that I’m not alone in needing to scratch my ears when experiencing a surge in adrenaline is also reassuring from a physical and mental health perspective.

I hear you say: ‘How do you know that Haruki Murakami himself gets itchy ears when nervous? This could have simply been a quirky trait of his fictional character in the short story.’

Oh, COME ON! How would Murakami ever include such detail into his story if he didn’t experience it himself?

Before reading this story – note the ‘before’! I don’t do plagiarism! – I included the same detail in my yet to be finished tween novel. The main character in my book gets itchy ears when scared, or stressed, or nervous. I wouldn’t have been able to conjure up anything this strange if I didn’t have to reach for my ears myself in similar circumstances. So there’s your answer.

But enough itchy ears. The important issue is that I discovered an evident bond between me and Hurakami, and this is sufficient reason for celebration. So cheers to me and a world famous author: two peas in a pod; true soul mates; two of a kind…

Perhaps I should ditch my tween novel and jump on the short stories bandwagon. After all, writing competitions cry out for contemporary authors’ work as long as the reading is over and done with in a few minutes.

Short stories have been around for ever – note the subtle and slick avoidance of exact historical detail – but they appear to lend themselves particularly well to our society: we are impatient; we live in the immediate; if an internet site takes longer than a couple of seconds to download we are on the phone to the information technology ombudsman and take the provider to court.

All this considered, should I really bother to finish my 55 thousand words book?

Only kidding, of course I should. I will finish it, soon. Today, after the two peas in a pod momentous discovery, I am walking on air; I am untouchable! My tween book will be simply magnificent, and Hurakami will get extremely itchy ears just looking at its cover in all Tokyo’s bookstores.

Do you get itchy ears when experiencing strong emotions?

Have you got an author you feel strangely connected to?

As always, drop me a line. I will be delighted to read about your experiences.

About ofglassandbooks

Who, me? A fan of good reads and glass jars experiences; budding fiction writer in the very little and spare time available...
This entry was posted in books, books that influence, Books, reading, reviews, Books, reading, reviews, jars, glass, inspire, reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can a fiction book make you scream: WOW, Haruki Murakami and I are like two peas in a pod! Installment 6 of the Can a fiction book make you…mini series

  1. Siphong says:

    I indeed have the same experience with Murakami, especially after reading the short collection After the Quake. I wrote something here, quite awkward writing though, you can take a look at it if you like 🙂
    http://siphong.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/quake/

  2. I love this post! I never knew about itchy ears, and you are right – how can you write about them if you don’ t know about them. You are definitely two peas in a pod. 🙂

    I agree short stories are making a comeback. People are looking for quick, entertaining reads on their phones or eReaders while they wait, commute, and over lunches. Here is a site which accepts short stores for free, but will also accept pieces for payment to you per download. Something for you to consider in the future? http://www.etherbooks.com/

    • Hello Maddie,
      nice to find a comment from you at the end of a long day. kiddies nearly in bed, but they are both reading so intently and quietly that I don’t have the heart to kick them out of my bed and send them to theirs!
      Thanks for the link to etherbooks. I will visit the web site for a nice tour of what they do.
      Speak soon,
      ofglassandbooks

Leave a Reply

