Happy Mother’s Day, UK ladies!

It’s Mothers Day in the UK, and probably also elsewhere in the world. Happy day to you all!
How do we feature in books, may I ask? Usually pretty well if it’s a children’s book: we are kind, patient, we never say anything hurtful or out of order, and we are always there.

What ludicrous generalisation, I hear you say. I admit that some children’s books may portray a more realistic image of mothers, but in the majority of cases you will have to agree with me. It’s Mothers Day – do not argue!

As a budding writer of a Tween Boys (and girls actually) fiction book I didn’t want to fall in the same trap. The mother of my main character, 12 year old Jamie Spencer, is just a woman: she frets, gets stressed, can’t resist tirades for or against pretty much anything, is temperamental and makes mistakes. She’s normal. She’s also funny and loving, but not all honey and sugar and everything sweet.

I’d like to see more normal women in children’s fiction. How else are we to teach the new generation that women with strong personalities and points of view are not emotionally unstable, or nervous, or prone to flapping, or in their PMT? They – in fact we – are just the same as the opposite sex, only probably polished off in young readers’ literature, for who knows what purpose.

As always, please drop me a line with your views. Did I just happen to stumble across children’s books where all mothers are angels and fathers are normal human beings?

About ofglassandbooks

Who, me? A fan of good reads and glass jars experiences; budding fiction writer in the very little and spare time available...
This entry was posted in books that influence, Books, reading, reviews, Books, reading, reviews, jars, glass, reading, tweenagers, women in fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day, UK ladies!

  1. I’ve worked with children’s books for years, and I would say picture books most assuredly portray mommies as saints. In chapter books, parents were almost always presented as kind and caring. Changes could be seen in the 70s, whereby a less attractive image of a mother (but usually a father) was portrayed. Some present-day books almost make me uncomfortable with the way a parent might be written, as few subjects are off-limits now. I like that you are presenting your mother with all facets of a personality to include a fun and loving side.

  2. Oh! And Happy Mother’s Day! 🙂

    • Maddie, thanks! I really enjoy your comments, they make me smile and are a source of wonderful encouragement and gentle critique! Got to go. Tonight is my Breezy reads night.

Leave a Reply

