Can song lyrics inspire fiction writers?

Something Is Squeezing My Skull

Something Is Squeezing My Skull (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Only a few days ago I was listening to Morrissey. I was at work and used music to block out surrounding noise and concentrate. As I reflected on the use of music to ‘block’ noise, I suddenly captured Morrissey singing it back to me:

I’m doing very well
I can block out the present and the past now
I know by now you think I should have straightened myself out…

(From ‘Something is squeezing my skull’, Years of Refusal, 2009)

Talk about coincidence! But blocking was not the only thought that sprang to mind. It was also the fact that, if of sufficient quality, a song can inspire fiction writers the same as books do.

Take for instance some more of the same song’s lines:

Oh, something is squeezing my skull
Something I can barely describe
There is no love in modern life

What better way of describing a feeling of oppression, anxiety, unease than something squeezing your skull. I definitely was not going to pass the opportunity to adopt the expression in my book – still in the making…

Let’s hear some more fiction inspiring lyrics from the same man:

What really lies
Beyond the constraints of my mind?
Could it be the sea
With fate mooning back at me?
No, it’s just more lock-jawed pop-stars
Thicker than pig-s***
Nothing to convey
So scared to show intelligence
It might smear their lovely career

This world – I am afraid –
Is designed for crashing bores

(‘This world is full of crashing bores’, from You Are The Quarry, 2004)

The use of words is imaginative and an interesting source of ideas for writers. No need for a musical ear, just a good pair of headphones.

Have you ever been inspired to write fiction by a song?

About ofglassandbooks

Who, me? A fan of good reads and glass jars experiences; budding fiction writer in the very little and spare time available...
This entry was posted in books that influence, Books, reading, reviews, Books, reading, reviews, jars, glass, change behaviour, inspire, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

